Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Bad week

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

I’m having a bad week.
    As you know I had a hoggy put to sleep due to his injuries on monday- today when I went to the hog house, one hoggy had died in the night.
    This hoggy was brought to me last Friday weighing 270g with no apparent injuries.
    He was eating and drinking over the weekend.
    As I’m new to this Hedghog rescue what could have caused this?
    Did I miss something?
    Sue

Nic

Hi Bluebean

So sorry to hear about the poor hog. Sadly, especially with wildlife, not all of them make it, however hard people try to help them. I am sure you tried your very best for it. It’s always incredibly sad when a hog dies.

Have you, or have you considered, working with an experienced hedgehog carer/rehabilitator. You could learn a lot from them, and they might be able to help you with some of the questions you have. I imagine it is almost impossible to start this sort of thing up on your own, without the knowledge that someone who has already been doing it for a while has. It is great that you want to do this, but maybe you would benefit from some sort of backup in the form of someone more experienced.