Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Cat eating food

Home Forums Carers / rescuing a hedgehog Cat eating food

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Nic Nic 6 days, 15 hours ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Recently discovered next door’s cat is eating all the food I put in several hog feeders.
    I’ve been feeding for a couple of years now and know up till recently it was the hedgehogs eating the food ( just observation and infra red camera).
    But I recently had a problem with a rat. Briefly I saw an unusual hole and set the camera to watch. It picked up a rat. Not wanting to risk harming any hogs I set a humane trap, caught the rat and released it in the local quarry. I set the camera a while longer but seems it was just one rat.
    So I put the camera inside one of the feeders and caught the cat actually inside!
    Set it in another and same thing. So yesterday I made the tunnel smaller but it still got in. I’m going to have another go at making a feeder with more twists and bends and put an obstacle near the entrance. But if that doesn’t work I’m will have to stop feeding as I have no intention of feeding the cat.
    Any ideas please?

Hi Pushtheriver,