Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Feed and Weed for Lawn?

Home Forums Champions’ chat Feed and Weed for Lawn?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

I’m fairly new at Hedgehog spotting (since a trail cam Christmas pressie) but I can confirm I definitely have 4 different hoggies and am feeding and watering them regularly now. Previous years I have always treated my lawn with feed and weed and would like to know if this is still okay or a definite no no. The last thing I want to do is harm my new spiky friends.

Hi Emmadale, i don’t use chemicals in my garden on anything, especially the grass. Like you having hedgehogs coming in to feed i don’t want to harm them. I have stopped cutting my grass short and now leave it at around two inches, maybe a bit shorter. Lots of insects get into the grass if not to short. My grass is full of weeds but it has to stay that way. At least i don’t let them flower and scatter their seeds around. In fact hedgehogs prefer an untidy garden.

When I moved into this house the lawns were truly dreadful & full of perennial weeds; chems were a must to make any progress at all …… then I discovered hedgehogs! I do still use weed & feed but am very fussy about when I’ll use it – during hog season I’ll only use it if it’s going to rain before the hedgehogs get up in which case it’s fine, it becomes harmless once properly wet and the smell is gone.