Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Heartbroken

Home Forums Hedgehog tales Heartbroken

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

My registered social landlord has banned me from feeding my little family of hedgehogs stating that it may encourage rats & big birds. I have been feeding them for 5 years, have a hedgehog house hidden in the communal garden &my scheme manager was aware of this. My husband who passed away last Sept cared so much for them & I am recovering from cancer. Any ideas what action I can take??? Thanks everybody XX

Nic

Hi Jennifer

So sad to hear about what you have written. It’s difficult to know what to suggest without knowing a few more details. For instance, what have you been feeding the hedgehogs?

Unfortunately it is possible that feeding hedgehogs could attract rats, although it seems comparatively infrequent. Sometimes it is feeding birds that initially attracts rats. Do people feed the birds there? Not that I would want to stop anyone feeding the birds, either. But, there are plenty of other things which also attract rats. I hope the hedgehogs are not being used as ‘scapegoats’.

But if you feed the hedgehogs cat food, the rats are less likely to be interested, although that might attract cats. Or are they banned as well?! Although you could set up a cat proof feeding station. Maybe someone could help you with that?