Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

hedgehog constant scratching

Home Forums Carers / rescuing a hedgehog hedgehog constant scratching

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hi I am new to Hedgehog street. had 2 hedgehogs in my garden last year. I built 2 boxes which have been home over winter, they have just started to come out but one is constantly scratching. Is there anything I can do to relieve the problem. He was scratching before he went into hibernation. I do have camera footage but not sure how to attach. Thanks.

If it’s not losing it’s prickles – ie ringworm or mites then you need to leave it alone. You can get it checked over by your nearest carer.
    It is illegal to just treat a wild animal if it doesn’t have anything really wrong with it. Hogs carry their own fleas and also get ticks as a normal thing so they do scratch a lot anyway.
    It would be an idea to clear out the boxes while they are out and sterilize with boiling water to kill off any ticks, then leave out fresh bedding for them to use – but only do this if you are sure they aren’t in residence

Yes you are right that if it loses it’s spines it could be mange or have ringworm with mange they may have mites irritating them so it’s important you keep an eye out