Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog Dilemma

Home Forums Hedgehog signs and sightings Hedgehog Dilemma

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

Hello all you hog lovers, I need your expert advice.
    I have two nightly hog visitors, one living under the shed (Hetty) and another (Big Bruiser ) living at the bottom of the garden. I’ve been feeding them for a few months now and cam footage would suggest both have extremely healthy appetites. Hetty has doubled in size since the first sighting at the beginning of the year, but recently she has also been nest building/ renovating, so not really sure if the weight gain is due to appetite or reproduction .
    I have two feeding stations and I have been feeding them 1 small pouch of Cesar chicken & turkey in jelly dog food mixed with moist spike in each feeding station and they seem to love it! I also leave out a dish of spike crunchy biscuit, ( but they are not so keen on that and the magpies, pigeons and blackbirds pinch it before I’m awake ) I also leave dishes of fresh water, with food and in various other locations in the garden.
    However, recently I noticed from cam footage and sightings, that Big Bruiser started visiting earlier ( a good hour earlier, scoffing all the food from both feeding stations while Hetty was still kipping!