Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog found on first floor of house

Home Forums Hedgehog tales Hedgehog found on first floor of house

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Hi,
    I am a complete newbie here and I don’t know too much about hedgehogs but I am learning and I do love them. I hope I have posted this in the right place.
    About 18months ago (summer time), I woke in the middle of the night to hear scratching down the side of my bed. I was pretty alarmed as I sat up. It was dark and I couldn’t see clearly what it was. I turned the lamp on and my husband and I were totally confused to see a hedgehog trying to hide by my bedside table.
    We have an ensuite and the window in there was open. This window is a velux on a sloping roof and our garden has high walls around it. In order for the hedgehog to have fallen in the window, he would have had to navigate along a long peice of guttering and then walk up a slate tiled roof about 2 metres and then dropped in the window.
    There were no droppings anywhere at all, so it hadn’t been there long and I don’t think it would have come up the stairs as we had 3 dogs at the time and while they wouldn’t be brave enough to get too close, there would have been an almighty commotion should it have wandered in.
    It can only have come through this window but are hedgehogs climbers? Would this be possible?