Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog house bedding

Home Forums Hedgehog signs and sightings Hedgehog house bedding

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone,
    I am after a little advice as I am new to hedgehog care, We have been having a hog sleep in our hog house, it has used it for napping through the night between feeds for the 10 days or so, her bed is now quite flat, question is shall i clean it out and add fresh straw, or just add extra straw on top or just leave it alone, I dont want to upset her if its how she likes it! Many thank in advance.

Nic

Hi Kb70

Are you saying that the hog is only taking naps in between snacking and not during the day? And are you feeding in the hog house the hog is sleeping in?

You really need to decide whether you want to use the hog box for feeding or for sleeping. If for feeding then don’t put any bedding in and definitely clean out regularly, otherwise hogs could be picking up parasites from visiting the box.