Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog Newbie

Home Forums Champions’ chat Hedgehog Newbie

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hello

I’m new to this hedgehog conservation business, and wanted to join the forum to see just what sort of things I should learn about keeping hedgehogs healthy and happy.

In March of this year, just before lockdown, we renovated our back garden, took out all of the old plants and fence and began again. We love gardening, and have always gardened organically, and with wildlife in mind. We have a hedgehog highway in our fence, and from time to time had seen hedgehogs in our garden. When we put the new fence up, one of the first thing we did was make another hedgehog highway. (Apart from anything else our 3 cats like to use it and think its there for their convenience).

We wanted to take this one step further, and after noting there was quite a lot of hedgehog poo being left behind, we began to put dishes of cat food out at night.

Our cats alerted us to the fact there was a hedgehog checking out the garden in the dusk of a spring evening, but thankfully beyond a cursory inspection, they gave the hedgehog a wide berth.