Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehogs and Honeybees as roomies

Home Forums Hedgehog tales Hedgehogs and Honeybees as roomies

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Morning. I’m a newbie, so I’m sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn’t see anything.
    I have three occupied honeybee hives in my garden. They’re all sited in what we call the island, which is an overgrown area about 2mx4m in the centre of a lawn. We also have a massive woodpile the extends around 20m down the side of the garden.
    Recently, I noticed what I thought were hedgehog poos near the hives, so I filled two little pots of mealworms and the last two mornings, not only were they gone, but the pots knocked over. Last night, I went out around 9.30 to fill the feeders and place a night vision, motion detection camera buy the pots. While there, I could hear loud snuffling and heavy breathing a meter away by the hives and lots of movement in the undergrowth. It was that much, it was like a scene from Jurassic park, waiting to see just what might come out. We sat down quietly, and within a couple of minutes out shuffled two small hogs. Over the next few minutes another small and a very large one also came out, with lots more movement in the undergrowth too. My children also heard activity around the the summerhouse at the end of the garden.