Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog’s legs collapsing?

Home Forums Carers / rescuing a hedgehog Hedgehog’s legs collapsing?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hi, new to the forum. Been reading posts for a while which has been really helpful as I’m new to discovering hogs in my garden. We have at least 2 regular male visitors who come most nights (seen on wildlife camera). Last nights footage showed one happily eating, but as he went to walk, his back leg seemed to bow and collapse slightly under his weight. He recovered, then as he went to walk away, both front legs went down and he seemed to push himself along the floor by using his back legs. I’ve read about chin rubbing on another post so I don’t know if this is deliberate behaviour but I’ve never seen it before and I’m worried if he’s injured. I have two videos but I’m not sure if I’m able to post them on this site. Does anyone have any advice? I’m really worried that something is wrong with him. Thanks for any help.

Sorry you didn’t get a response earlier – it’s always best if you’re really worried to contact your nearest carer – the number to find one is on this page.
    I hope you managed to contact a carer for advice