Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehogs moving their food bowl??

Home Forums Hedgehog tales Hedgehogs moving their food bowl??

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

I have been feeding my local hedgehogs for the past 2 years from two small, plastic take-out boxes put at opposite ends of the garden (this keeps two of them from fighting, as we have seen them do). Recently, the boxes have been disappearing at night. For the past three mornings, I have come out to find the feeding boxes gone. One of the boxes showed up in the neighbour’s garden yesterday, and I think one of the hedgehogs might have moved it. It was around 5 meters away, but through the door we cut in the fence. There doesn’t seem to be a reason for a person to be moving them. Does anyone have any experience with this? Can hedgehogs pick up light-weight objects and carry them around?

Nic

Hi ethanshedgehogs

Do you by any chance have foxes around? Hogs will push their bowls around, or tip them over, i.e. to see if there is anything underneath (as they might if it was a stone), but don’t normally pick them up and carry them away.

I’m assuming you don’t have a night camera there?