Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hibernation???

Home Forums Hedgehog signs and sightings Hibernation???

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi, this is my first year of hedgehog adopting😁. I’ve had 2 visitors every night from end of July…..they’ve been eating loads over the past couple of weeks. My camera traps have shown for the past 2 nights all I have been feeding is 6 very hungry magpies. I have a feeding station but the hogs only use it occasionally, and seem to prefer searching every inch of my back yard, so I started leaving some food in different places for them…… but the 🤬 magpies are so clever! I am presuming the hogs have gone into hibernation. I want to make sure there’s food for them, in case they pop in. Should I just use the feeding station, or continue to put it here and there and let the Maggie’s have it in the morning?

Magpies are so sneaky! My magpies used to try that but they didn’t get much of a chance once a seagull would swop down to take over.

I made a plastic box that I use as a feeder (with tube at the entrance) it took about a month for te hedgehogs to get used to it. I would scatter a bit in the tube or in front of the box.

I’m glad a kept trying with the box as the cats/magpies/fox/ don’t get it and it slows the wood mice down.