Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

I’m new to hedgehog street and need some advice

Home Forums Hedgehog signs and sightings I’m new to hedgehog street and need some advice

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

I’ve currently got a female hedgehog visiting my garden every night and I’m pretty sure she will have hoglets in her nest if the frenzied mating about a month ago is anything to go by. I’ve been watching her each night around 10.30pm and you can pretty much set your watch by her.
    So I have invested in a hoggie home hoping one of her young ( if not her) will take up residence .
    I’ve been putting jellied dog food and hog food out for some weeks with water. But thought the ideas on hedgehog street for feeding stations to stop the cats was a great idea, so for the last two nights the food has been placed in a hog friendly under bed storage box. She didn’t turn up at her usual time last night, although this morning it was evident that something had been in to feed. Tonight I was hoping for confirmation that it was my little friend and stayed out until 11.00pm . She turned up at her normal time, had a drink and went to the entrance of the feeding station, but didn’t go in and disappeared. Should I persevere with the feeding station or go back to just hiding the dishes in the undergrowth? Have I confused her usual routine?
    Any advice very much appreciated.