Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Neighbour issues

Home Forums Champions’ chat Neighbour issues

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hi,
    I’m a newbie. I have been feeding hedgehogs for quite a few years now, with quite a few visitors to my feeding station and nesting boxes. But last week the activity suddenly stopped. I have just found out that the people living in the house to the back of my home have blocked off the access routes to the hedgehogs. I know this is the route that they take and have done so for many years. It has been done intentionally as they don’t approve of me feeding the birds and wildlife. They know that I have a hedgehog feeding station, so I can’t think of any other reason for their actions. I know that there isn’t much I can do about it. But I just feel so sad that people would behave this way.

Hi sass7705,

sad if this has been done intentionally as you say. do you know this is the case? – it may be worth approaching them – and other neighbours – with a hedgehog leaflet and some hedgehog highway signs to encourage them to make the holes. Hogs will find alternative routes if you make it easy for them via other neighbours. We did similar at the end of last year and with a little encouragement we have several neighbours who now ‘understand’ and put out water at least and even a couple of additional boxes and feeding stations have gone out.