Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Should we rescue an underweight hedgehog as hibernation approaches

Home Forums Carers / rescuing a hedgehog Should we rescue an underweight hedgehog as hibernation approaches

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I’m new to hedgehogs but it’s great because we have at least four if not more visiting throughout the night. I feed a hedgehog food from CJwildbird foods which they seem to like. One of the hedgehogs is really small and we’re worried if it does not grow quickly it will not survive the winter. Would it be ok to care for it in a safe place over the winter, somewhere protected from the worst of the cold? If so, when would be the best time to do this as I assume the time will come when they just won’t visit the garden at night anymore?
    Thanks for your help

Nic

Hi Maryann

Welcome to the Forum. Brilliant news that you have some hogs visiting there.