Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Spreading the word

Home Forums Champions’ chat Spreading the word

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Newbie here. 😊
    I have posted on our Nextdoor website explaining what I have done to help since we discovered hoggies visiting our garden and suggested that even if people can only help by providing a fresh bowl of water and access to their gardens they are helping our beautiful hedgehog population. I also posted a link to hedgehog street so they can visit the website to get further information.

Since we first discovered our visitors in August, a very short bit of garden at the front of the house now has freshly planted vegetation (for bug supply) a large shallowish stepped bowl for a quick wash and spruce up, a wooden house and 2 igloo style houses for possible hibernation. One of them has already been taken up by a hoggie who comes to feed, goes into the house for a few hours, comes out again to feed and then wanders off to wherever his/her main abode is! I hope to spend many more seasons helping our little friends. My husband has already managed to get one injured hoggie to a rescue.

Hopefully by writing on Nextdoor it may encourage some people to join in.

Nic

Hi Bellasmom