Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Tolerant hedgies.

Home Forums Hedgehog signs and sightings Tolerant hedgies.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hi all. Well, I’ve been feeding my local hedgehogs now for 2 years. Every evening I see at least 1 in my garden, often 2 and occasionally 3 at the same time, however, I saw this the other day…
    https://youtu.be/086NSTFmZsc
    I’m amazed at how tolerant they are with each other.
    Is there a way to try and identify each hog, ie certain marking to look for, or is there a safe way I can mark them?

Nic

Hi hedgehog legs

Lovely to see all the hogs there.

It is possible to identify the hogs by their natural markings, and much easier than some people think. Things to look out for are:

Facial markings. (general colour, dark or pale, whether there are stars – as on horses, Triangles coming down from between ears, bars across the face in various places and angles, bars beneath ears, any pale patches, areas of mottled appearance, dark marks from nose to eyes, how far above the eyes the dark mark goes, the shape of it, etc.)
    Colour of fur inside ears.
    Colour of spines (i.e. russety, dull brown, pale, any pale groups of spines, etc.)
    Variations/gradations in colour of their skirts. (sometimes a skirt can be pale with dark bands going down – like a hedgehog barcode)
    Whether there is a marked band between the skirt and the spines and if so, what colour it is.