Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Who feeds hedgehogs what ?

Home Forums Champions’ chat Who feeds hedgehogs what ?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Hi all, thanks for having me in Hedgehog street. I was wondering what other members feed their prickly friends ? I have been feeding our hedgehog for the last 3 years on Webbox chicken roll and this year have added dried mealworms which he loves.

Nic

Hi Tom

Welcome to the Forum. The best things to feed hogs are good quality hedgehog food, cat/dog food, cat/kitten biscuits. Chicken varieties thought to be more easily digestible. Not sure what Webbox chicken roll is. If it is pretty much just chicken, you would be better of feeding cat/dog food, because they probably have added vitamins, etc.

Definitely cut out the mealworms. They do love them, but it has been found that not only can they become addicted to them, but they are bad for them. They have too much phosphorous in relation to calcium and this can cause the calcium to leach out of the bones. Particularly dangerous in hoglets who can develop deformities. If the hogs have become used to the mealworms you may need to reduce them gradually.

The following is a link to a video about Metabolic Bone Disease caused by eating too many mealworms. The beginning is a bit distressing but it is worth watching on to hear the explanation from a vet.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZ7Y3a4vgqU

Good luck