Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Will another hedgehog move in?

Home Forums Champions’ chat Will another hedgehog move in?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi, I’ve been feeding the hedgehogs in our garden for about 2 months now and we seem to have at least 3 regular characters who visit every evening. I recently built a hedgehog house at the bottom of our garden and was thrilled to see on my wildlife camera that one of the three decided to move in almost immediately using the bedding (dead leaves, dried grass and some straw) I left nearby. He/she slept in the house for 3 consecutive days but then decided to move out although they are still visiting and enjoying the food every evening. A few nights later we watched on the camera one of the others entering the empty house, having a good sniff around and then come back out again.
    Will another hedgehog move into the house with the bedding that the first hedgehog used still in there or would I need to empty and clean the house before someone else would consider moving in?
    I know if it where me I would expect the landlord to give it a thorough clean before I moved in but then hedgehogs may not be so fussy!😆

Hi MerryMouse!