Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Is a house mounted on hardstanding OK?

Home Forums Champions’ chat Is a house mounted on hardstanding OK?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

I’m fairly new to all this, but am blessed with a well-attended feeding station by at least 3 different ‘little buddies’. I’ve put the feeding station outside my back door which leads on to about an acre of grass and clumps of trees. It’s just a simple plastic storage box with a 5″ hole cut in the corner, and it stands on the path.
    I had a house delivered today and was wondering if it would be OK to put it nearby the feeding station. The alternative would be to move both into my (enclosed) front garden which has a wide-spaced fence around it and easy access for the ‘little buddies’. There is also a fairly wide path around one side of the garden (nearest the house), and a small tree. The path is well sheltered and it would obviously be easier to replenish the feeding station if it was on the path. Would it be OK to put the house on the path, too, and near to the feeding station?

Nic

Hi berniel

Great to hear you have hogs visiting there.