Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Markings?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Hi; I’m a newbie to all this – though I have seen hedgehogs about here. But recently, we set up a small feeding box & have been feeding cat food (non-fish variety) and leaving water overnight for a couple of weeks. I happen to have a game camera which has shown us who visits; apart from the hedgehog & cats (they can’t access the food) we’ve also seen a fox!
    But I realized a couple of days ago that we have at least 2 hoggies! I can tell, because one of them has quite clear markings on its body; dark patches over each shoulder & a broad stripe ending in a point at the front of his hip, tapering round the bottom of his back & meeting up with one on the other side.
    I’ve looked through all the photos online & haven’t seen anything like it – though I did see a comment about some marks on another one & someone suggested perhaps the marks were revealed under Infra-red from the camera.
    Any suggestions? ( I do have photo, but don’t understand how to upload it.)

Nic

Hi Yaderef

It’s lovely to hear you have hogs there.

It sounds to me as though the poor hedgehog has been artifiically marked. Unfortunately it seems to be becoming more common, but is, neither necessary, nor kind to the hedgehog. You might like to read BHPS’s guidance re. marking.
    https://www.britishhedgehogs.org.uk/faq/ which I’ll copy here.