Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Hedgehog hibernating in damp hay – does it matter?

Home Forums Champions’ chat Hedgehog hibernating in damp hay – does it matter?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

I am a newbie with hedgehog care. I have never done anything with hedgehogs before this year. We saw and heard a hedgehog in the garden in late summer, so I began to feed it with bought dry hedgehog food, plus put water down, inside a small bought ‘igloo’ type shelter. Very quickly it found the food and began to eat it. I wasn’t entirely sure it was a hedgehog eating it until I found hedgehog poo in there eventually.

A couple of weeks ago I bought some hay and stuffed it inside the shelter and 2 days later the hog moved in and was asleep in there in the day every time I looked. Now it is buried very deep in the hay and I think it’s hibernating, not just taking a nap, and the food is not being eaten as far as I can tell.