Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Rat issues

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

I’ve been feeding hedgehogs in my garden for several years and only saw a rat once last year which didn’t stay for long.
    This year there seems to be a very tenacious rat who’s made a nest under my shed and is eating all the hog food even when I tried wet cat food.
    I’ve stopped feeding the hogs over the last couple of nights in the hope of catching the rat in a humane trap but he’s not having any of it and I’m worried the hogs are going hungry.
    I’m planning on removing the nest under the shed but am worried the rat(s) will relocate to the many hog houses in the garden.
    I’ve read that cotton wool soaked with eucalyptus or peppermint oil can deter rodents and was thinking of putting this in the entrance to the hog boxes but would it deter the hogs too?
    Anyone have any other ideas?

Nic

Hi madfoxlady

I have just written this previously with some links in it, but it disappeared. It may reappear at some stage, so apologies if there is repetition.

Unfortunately, rats seem to be a perennial problem. Just be aware that hogs have been caught in humane rat traps. Probably the best thing I can do is direct you to other exchanges about rats, where you might find something which helps.