Accessibility Homepage Skip navigation Sitemap

Forum

Register and log in to gain access to our forums and chat about everything 'hedgehog'!

Thank you for looking to contribute to the Hedgehog Street forum. Please note that when submitting replies or posts, these are run through our spam-checkers, so there may be a slight delay in your posts appearing, and reflecting in the forum post details below. However, if you think anything has gone awry please contact us.

The views and opinions expressed in this forum do not necessarily represent the views of PTES or BHPS.

Rats!

Home Forums Champions’ chat Rats!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author

Hi,
    I’ve been feeding hhs for a couple of years now and I’ve also provided hedgehog boxes which they’ve used. For the first time , last night, I saw a rat on my trail camera. I was alarmed and just don’t know what to do for the best. I don’t want poison, but (after making enquiries) that’s the most efficient way and can be done in a way that’s not harmful to other wildlife. What do you think any ideas would be welcome?

Kass

Hi Kass, i dont think many here would approve of the poison route, Just too many ifs and buts. Perhaps consider a humane trap, which is a small cage that when the rat steps on the trigger plate the door shuts. Then if you have a car, can take it a couple of miles away and release it. Others here may have a different idea for you. That way can sift through them and take your pick.

Yeah, poison is always dangerous to other wildlife, as even if you can avoid them being directly poisoned by the bait, other animals can and will eat the poisoned rat carcasses.